A Time Away From Dancing

IMG_0221

For years in my dance career, between shows, events, weddings, solos, duets and shaking until the feet, body was exhausted plus pictures, gratitude, counting, plus the appreciations and starting all over again weekly and monthly basis this was my life, living a passionate hobby that feels like I couldn’t stop but as we all know some tournaments have pauses and seasons, shows has come backs and a moment to recharge is always good. This time will take some routing changings. The past few months after my last training and teaching classes I never have experienced such a journey, dealing with joint paint, one of the most common issues in the world. The single pain has changed so much of my daily routine and life itself, that is very intense learning and going thru the process.

I have taken breaks from dancing for so many reasons because without feeling happy is hard to find the tune with the moves. Pain is not a happy thing!  Dancing put me in many happy and fun places. It is nothing in life that brings me more joy and inspiration than dancing.

I wish I could do more, but dancing, eating healthy, exercising was not only the point as too much of what you do can do, it might impact you positively but as well negatively.

I have been dealing with a pain in my hip and with so many investigations thru different doctors, X-Ray and MRI’s taken. We concluded the research that is absolutely a Tear Labral with Hip Impingement FAI that needs to be taken care and after a Shot of Anesthesia to numb the location and observe the process of pain we come to the conclusion that the doctor was not as professional as we wanted to be, back to square one, we decided to find another competent Orthopaedic Surgeon and  one of the best doctors in Austin for athletic individuals who go thru tough sports injuries and need to get fix and he actually helped me get clarification and more attention to this situation.

After consultations and exams at the same day, I walked out confident enough after the first appointment and since I don’t have time and many options we made a decision that would be better to make a procedure instead of more injections.

Dealing with the pain put me in the terrible mood. I kept thinking I can’t believe I am going thru this. Some people think is no big deal, another thing is serious, and most of the people who went thru this roller coaster know what is to be in it.

I love dancing and miss going to that routine, friends, every Friday night an opportunity to decompress… but healthy comes first as I advise.

After reading, watching videos, listening to many people I understood that hip injuries, traumas and problems like mine with procedures are very common in middle age, or among dancers and athletes. I could never in my life imagine a hip going bad. I have torn my ankle, my knee but a hip! Get out of town, right!

So many hip exercises which are intense hip exercises as a belly dancer that never thought it could be that possible. Insane!

Acetabular dysplasia. Some people are born with a hip socket that is too shallow or too deep. They usually have a very good range of motion— sometimes too good. This type of hip is very prone to labral tears and early arthritis and should not be turned out at all. This condition can be picked up on an MRI study. Acetabular dysplasia is not common, can easily rotate the hip partly out of a socket that is already too shallow. These dancers should dance parallel to protect their hips for situations like mine.

Labral tears are characterized by sudden pains in the groin that often occur with certain motions like moving sideways,  hip drops, twisting, turning, sitting and standing is painful. There is a specific test for labral tears during the physical exam: With the patient lying down on her back (supine), the affected hip is flexed first straight up toward the chest with the knee bent. This is usually not painful. But when the knee is brought up in the same motion but more toward the midline (addicted) it will cause pain in the hip if a labral tear is present. That’s “the flexion-adduction sign.” It is not 100 percent accurate, but is highly suggestive and is usually an indication for getting a special MRI. Some labral tears are not very painful, so a physician will just keep an eye on it over time. If it gets worse, the dancer/athlete may need arthroscopic surgery to fix the problem, like me… I am going under a surgery next April 20 to get this over with it – will be my first procedure in my body performed, over had any hospital experience regarding surgeries, as you can imagine I am freaking out. I got to the point enough is enough… the pain is affecting my routine and my social life. I need to be back into my normal lifestyle, dancing and dedicating myself back on a stage.

Dancers who deal with it may be prone to arthritis of the hip later in life, but this is not known for sure because the condition often occurs even in non-dancers. Symptomatic arthritis is the usual indication for a hip replacement.

Thankfully I have found in time a good partner to support me in this process, without the support, it is hard, especially if the injury has taken activities is been a scratch out of the list. Having good things happening in the background is all you need to keep going. I plan to keep positive with the details. I confess I am scared but as any other procedure, it will take time and as first-time trooper is normal.

I am glad I have a good partner, good doctor, a good job and few friends to be there and encourage me to come back on the floor feeling brand new.

Discipline and courage are needed and I will be back in training again soon. Surgery takes time and all depends on my recovery I will be away from work and of course in physical therapy for  5 months. It is better going thru this now than having serious problems later in old age. Dancing is fun but limitation should be never be ignored.

Visit your doctor if you face hip pain and check out for details.

Happy Dancing for all my readers! Until next week with more updates!

 

2 thoughts on “A Time Away From Dancing

Leave a Reply

